Global network leaders and organisations

Leaders and the interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary organisations involved in forming the global network are listed below. (The leaders’ organisational links are those at the time of forming the global network.)

NameMeetings attendedRole and organisation
Arun Agrawal SESYNC
Ann Arbor
Coordinator, International Forestry Resources and Institutions (IFRI)
University of Michigan, USA;
Gabriele BammerSESYNC
Ann Arbor
Santa Fe
Founder, Integration and Implementation Sciences (i2S)
The Australian National University, Australia;
Kamal BawaSESYNC
Santa Fe
Founder-President, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE), India;
Paul BertschSESYNCScience Director, CSIRO Land and Water, Australia
Chris BooneSESYNC
Ann Arbor
Santa Fe
Dean, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University, USA;
Dan BrownAnn ArborDirector, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences, College of the Environment, University of Washington, USA
Colin CampbellSESYNC Chief Executive, The James Hutton Institute, United Kingdom;
Paul DoddSESYNC Associate Vice Chancellor for Interdisciplinary Research and Strategic Initiatives, Office of Research, Interdisciplinary Research and Strategic Initiatives, University of California, Davis, USA;
Jennifer Dunne SESYNC
Santa Fe
Vice President for Science, Santa Fe Institute, USA;
Iain Gordon SESYNC
Santa Fe
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Tropical Environments and Societies, James Cook University, Australia;
Former Chief Executive of the James Hutton Institute, UK
David Hart SESYNC
Ann Arbor
Director, Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions, University of Maine, USA;
Jessica Hellmann SESYNC
Ann Arbor
Santa Fe
Director, Institute on the Environment, University of Minnesota, USA;
Ben Houlton Ann Arbor Director, John Muir Institute of the Environment, University of California, Davis, USA
Elena Irwin Ann Arbor Faculty Director, Sustainable and Resilient Economy Program, Ohio State University, USA
Anthony Janetos Ann Arbor Director, Frederick S. Pardee Center for the Study of the Longer-Range Future, Boston University, USA;
(deceased August 2019)
Jonathan Kramer SESYNC
Ann Arbor
Director for Interdisciplinary Science, National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC), University of Maryland, USA;
Hein Mallee SESYNC Head of Social Science Division, Research Institute for Humanity and Nature, Japan;
Alison Miller SESYNC
Santa Fe
Deputy Director for Management, The Earth Institute, Columbia University, USA;
Santa Fe
Director, African Climate & Development Initiative, University of Cape Town, South Africa;; Also Pro-Vice Chancellor for Climate Change
Jean Ometto SESYNC
Santa Fe
Deputy-Coordinator, Rede-Clima, Brazil;
Also Head, Centre for Earth System Science
Michael O’Rourke Ann Arbor Interim Director, Center for Interdisciplinarity, Michigan State University, USA
Margaret Palmer SESYNC Director, National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC), University of Maryland, USA;
Steward Pickett SESYNC
Santa Fe
Distinguished Senior Scientist, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, USA;; Also Long-Term Ecological Research Network (LTER) Baltimore Ecosystem Study
Ken Taylor SESYNC
Ann Arbor
Director, Our Land and Water National Science Challenge, New Zealand;
Gabriele Wendorf SESYNC
Ann Arbor
Santa Fe
Co-Head of Research, Center for Technology and Society, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany;
Former Vice-President, Technische Universität Berlin