Meetings of the global network

The global network of leaders in interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary research organisations has met three times.

1. March 2018 SESYNC meeting

In March 2018, the National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC) in Annapolis, Maryland, USA, held the first global meeting of leaders in interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary organisations. Twenty leaders attended.


NITRO meeting march 2018 SESYNC
SESYNC meeting participants: On the screen is Paul Dodd (remote participant); standing (L-R), Colin Campbell, Gabriele Wendorf, Kamal Bawa Jean Ormetto, Chris Boone, Hein Mallee, Jen Dunne, Ken Taylor, David Hart, Margaret Palmer, Mark New, Alison Miller, Iain Gordon, Paul Bertsch, Steward Pickett; seated (L-R), Jessica Hellman, Arun Agrawal, Gabriele Bammer, Jon Kramer

2. November 2018 Ann Arbor meeting

The Ann Arbor follow-up meeting was held in mid-November 2018 at the School for the Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA. Twelve leaders attended.


  • Discussion about the formation of a new global community of practice
  • Discussion about a strategy to develop programmatic and educational resources for future leaders
Ann Arbor meeting participants: top (L-R), Jessica Hellmann, Dan Brown, Ken Taylor, Michael O’Rourke, Jon Kramer; bottom, Anthony Janetos, David Hart, Elena Irwin, Arun Agrawal. Not shown: Chris Boone, plus remote participants Gabriele Bammer and Ben Houlton

3. November 2018 Santa Fe meeting

The Santa Fe follow-up meeting was held in late-November 2018 at the Santa Fe Institute in New Mexico, USA. Eleven leaders attended.


  • Commentary – “Forging Future Organizational Leaders for Sustainability Science,” Nature Sustainability 2: 647-649 (2019);  (authors: Gordon IJ, Bawa K, Bammer G, Boone C, Dunne J, Hart D, Hellmann J, Miller A, New M, Ometto J, Pickett S, Wendorf G, Agrawal A, Bertsch P, Campbell CD, Dodd P, Janetos A, Mallee H & Taylor K).
  • Paper – “Preparing Interdisciplinary Leadership for a Sustainable Future,” Sustainability Science Online First (2020); (authors: Boone, C.G., Pickett, S.T.A, Bammer, G., Bawa, K., Dunne, J.A., Gordon, I.J., Hart, D., Hellmann, J., Miller, A., New, M., Ometto, J.P., Taylor K., Wendorf, G., Agrawal, A., Bertsch, P., Campbell, C., Dodd, P., Janetos, A., Mallee, H.).
Santa Fe NITRO meeting participants 2018
Santa Fe meeting participants: (L-R), Kamal Bawa, Gabriele Wendorf, Chris Boone, Alison Miller, Iain Gordon, Jen Dunne, Jean Ometto, Steward Pickett; not shown, Gabriele Bammer, Jessica Hellmann, Mark New (remote participants)